Town History

In 1793, Eli Terry began making clocks in Plymouth,

a craft carried on by his three sons, notably Eli Terry Jr., for whom Terryville was named. The 1830's here saw the beginning of lock making, which became a major enterprise with the formation of the Eagle Lock Company in 1854, active until it closed in 1975.


Terryville Waterwheel

WWHEEL2.jpgThe Terryville Waterwheel is a composite iron and wooden industrial prime mover dating from 1830. It has significance as an object that evokes Connecticut's early years of industrialization, as a rare survivor of a once-common type of construction, and as an artifact that preserves important information for the history of technology.

The town sponsored the nomination of the Terryville Waterwheel for inclusion in the National Register. This wheel is one of the last remaining vestiges of Plymouth's industrial past. It powered the Lewis Lock Company, forerunner of the Eagle Lock Company. It was formally listed on the Register effective January 4, 2002.


East Plymouth,

the northeastern section of the town, is widely known for its Tories before the Revolutionary War. This area boasts of Tories Cave, which attracts hundreds of visitors yearly. The area is comprised of a number of homes, many of them dating back to the mid 1700's, and the historic St. Matthew's Church, now a residence.


The Village of Terryville,

where most residents live, is on the eastern edge of Litchfield County and an easy commute to Bristol. The village of Plymouth is on the western side of the township. The town also has a business park and some factories.


Buttermilk Falls


Buttermilk Falls, with its 100 foot water falls attracts hundreds of hikers and visitors. This large stream of water running through a rock formation, ends with the falls, one of the highest natural waterfalls in the state. The stream of water, falls and approximately 12 acres of land have been preserved as the Buttermilk Falls Land Preserve.This is a magnificent waterfall and very picturesque. Water falls down a steep ledge and into a gorge surrounded by hemlocks. There are many cascades both above and below the falls. The falls are located on land owned by the Nature Conservancy.


Plymouth has a strong community spirit,

like many other towns on the Naugatuck River. The Lions and Rotary Clubs, as well as church and school groups, work with the families in the villages and countryside. The town's Little League fields, Lake Winfield and Mattatuck State Forest, are among the cherished recreational grounds supported by the townspeople.

Get Directions to Plymouth

The Town of Plymouth has a great Economic Development Program. Learn more about it by visiting:

Information provided on this site by the Town of Plymouth, CT through the work of the Economic Development Commission (EDC) and Connected To Connecticut, LLC.

Copyright © 2012. Plymouth Time. All Rights Reserved.
Website by: TCC Web Interactive a Division of The Computer Company, Inc.